The Magdalena Curse by F.G.Cottam

8121735

Ex-military man, Mark Hunter, has taken his ten year old son, Adam, to live in Scotland following the tragic deaths of his wife and daughter. The hope is that they will both recover from this bereavement to some extent, but events from the past disrupt these plans in a terrible way.

Adam Hunter is being tormented by dreams, during which he is heard to speak in ancient languages and to use voices other than his own. His father is frantic to find help for him and calls in the local doctor, Elizabeth Bancroft. She eventually comes to the conclusion that Adam has been possessed by something truly evil.

Mark Hunter sets out on his quest to save his son. He follows trails and clues which he hopes will lead him to the enigmatic Mrs Mallory, the strange and beautiful woman who laid a curse upon his family years earlier. During this time, he encounters some extremely odd creatures….and people!

I have only read one other title by F.G.Cattom entitled  “Dark Echo” and I think he followed a similar pattern in the writing of this book. Again, he has set his chilling tale against a believable background with believable characters; this makes the paranormal events of the story even more spine-chilling. I do think with this genre, one needs to suspend belief for a while in order to fully appreciate the story. There may have been a few unanswered questions, but on the whole, I really enjoyed reading “The Magdalena Curse”. I will certainly look for more of this author’s work.

974195   About the author:

 

Reading has always been a passion, mostly because it’s a cheap and totally effective way of being transported to another world. The same is true of writing. You might be struggling to pay a bill or even to fill your car with fuel, but such mundane concerns only afflict your characters if you decide you want them to.
University was where I first thought seriously about fiction; encountering Hemingway’s iceberg theory and Eliot’s objective correlative and having the luxury of time to ponder on the mechanics of the novel.
My first writing was journalism and pieces for I-D, Arena and The Face brought me to the attention of mainstream magazine publishers. In the ’90’s I edited FHM when it still majored on sport and fashion rather than Hollyoaks starlets and weather girls. Then I launch-edited the UK edition of Men’s Health magazine and then came to the conclusion that if I didn’t try to write some fiction it was never going to happen.
I read all kinds of fiction, but write stories with a paranormal element I think really because history fascinates me and ghosts allow the past to resonate shockingly, scarily and I hope convincingly, into the present.
I got off to an encouraging start but have suffered a few disappointments since then. I wouldn’t in honesty want to do anything else, though. If I write a terrible novel it’s my fault entirely. If I write a good novel, it’s entirely my achievement.
I spent my early life in a house without books. My mother had read one, Gone With the Wind, the length of which she always said put her off reading another. My father had two books; Fleming’s You Only Live Twice and Walter Scott’s Ivanhoe. I was eleven when he left for good and he took both books with him. I reckon my own love of reading must be an instinctive trait.
I’m leaving the influences section blank because I’ve been more inspired than influenced. Basil Copper’s Camera Obscura was the first great horror story I read. I love M.R. James and Peter Straub and think Stephen King has written three or four genuine masterpieces. More, if you include his shorter fiction as well as the novels. I’m also a big fan of the short stories of Ursula Le Guin and Shirley Jackson. Anyone who reads the final sentence of The Lottery without experiencing a shiver has ice in their veins.
I don’t really think of fiction writers in terms of gender, but pushed would say the best fiction I’ve read by a woman author is probably Pat Barker’s regeneration trilogy. And I really enjoy P.D. James. She’s a wonderful prose stylist as well as a skillful story teller

 

Leave a Reply

