Celebrate Short Fiction Day – 21st December.

Author, Nancy Christie, has designated the shortest day of the year, 21st December, as “Celebrate Short Fiction Day”. As Nancy says, “December 21st marks both the start of winter and the shortest day of the year. So, why not suggest to your readers that they take advantage of the long winter night to curl up with a good short story?”

Recently, the popularity of short stories has grown, and Pixel Hall Press has published some excellent examples of this genre. Two of my favourite individual “shorts” are “Annabelle” Annabelle cover for web and “Alice in Wonderland”,

18747550  both written by Nancy Christie.

Last month, I read and reviewed another Pixel Hall Press publication: “Seven From Haven” by Daniel GrottaSeven from Haven thumbnail  Pixel Hall Press has kindly offered a story from this collection of “gentle” ghost stories for you to download at http://tinyurl.com/mbkk6jm.

Other collections of short stories that I’ve read this year and thoroughly enjoyed are: File created with CoreGraphics           and           41EtY3ULBDL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-66,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_, both by Maria Savva, a prolific writer of short stories.

51dGU5kJlyL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-64,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_     by Julie Elizabeth Powell is a collection of thirteen linked stories, all with a chilling, paranormal theme.

Last month, I read this collection of “Christmas Ghost Stories” by Stewart King – quite a spooky dip into this genre!

51orhpQsNML._AA160_

Two more “shorts” that I liked very much are  18400281  and

13628733  Jack Croxall and Mark Rice have written very different end-of-the-world stories; both excellent tales.

This year has been a revelation for me!  Until 2013, I think I had read only one collection of short stories from start to finish, declaring that this particular genre was definitely NOT for me!  I would like to publicly thank all of the above mentioned authors for changing my mind.  I have come to appreciate the fact that a well crafted, well written short story can be as satisfying as an epic read, often providing more food for thought than the longer novel.

I have several more collections to read, both on my kindle and on my real book shelves, so it looks as if 2014 will continue to provide me with lots of great “short” reads.

Wishing everyone a very Happy Christmas – oh yes, and a Happy Short Fiction Day!

One thought on “Celebrate Short Fiction Day – 21st December.

  1. Pingback: Some Of The Best Short Fiction | The Modest Verge

Leave a Reply

