“Figments” by Julie Elizabeth Powell – a collection of short stories and poetry.

12210726

 

“Figments”, by versatile author Julie Elizabeth Powell, is a wonderful collection of short stories, poetry and prose.

I really enjoyed the short story, “Danny’s Magic Potion”, with its supernatural elements. “Sanitcore Ockle” is full of dark humour and I loved the ideas found in “The Pandora Dress”. For me, the scariest story in the collection was “The Box That Jane Built” – I had to finish this, although my eyes needed matchsticks to hold them open!

“Figments” also contains some short poems, my favourite being “Chocolate Cake”. A truly delicious piece!

Two of the pieces are inspired by works by other authors – a letter inspired by Gerald Durrell’s “My Family and Other Animals” and “Lennie’s View”, in which one of the characters from “Of Mice and Men” by John Steinbeck expresses his thoughts. “A Typical Christmas” is quality descriptive prose.

Julie Elizabeth Powell is one of my favourite Indie authors – I admire her versatility and willingness to explore different genres. I thoroughly recommend “Figments” for the quality of writing and its variety.

2 thoughts on ““Figments” by Julie Elizabeth Powell – a collection of short stories and poetry.

Leave a Reply

