Far Away in Time by Maria Savva…..more excellent short stories.

Far Away In Time

I suspect that if you follow my reviews, you will know that I am a fan of Maria Savva. I particularly enjoy her short stories and her latest collection, “Far Away in Time” did not disappoint.

Many of the tales are darker than those found in previous works by Ms Savva, but they are all gripping and so well-written, that they draw you in quickly. Several of the stories are tragic: “The Ghost of Christmas Past” and “Tragedy of Love” are both so sad. “Betrayal”, telling of Desiree’s rejection by her father and step-mother, aroused feelings of anger towards this callous pair. I am sure that there will be several readers who will be able to identify with Charlene’s predicament in “Echoes of her Dreams”, as she allows her own dreams – and needs – to be trampled on.

I enjoyed the magical realism of the two parts to “Far Away in Time” and also “A Sign”, which looks at the question of whether or not the dead can send signs to the living. In my opinion, the spookiest story in the collection is “The Beach”.

I cannot pick out my favourite story, because they all have something good to offer. They certainly made me think about some of the issues that many people experience at some time in their lives. If you haven’t read any short stories by this author, this is a good place to start; I would say that there is something for everyone in “Far Away in Time.”

Leave a Reply

